Trail Workdays & Crew Leaders

//Trail Workdays & Crew Leaders

If you’d like to help build and maintain trail, we have a workday going on somewhere in the state almost every weekend of the year and on some weekdays too.

Below is a list of volunteer trail crew leaders in different areas. Please contact them for more information about upcoming workdays and how you can get involved. To find a date that works for you, search the calendar.

Workdays are sometimes new trail construction and sometimes maintenance of existing trail. Work may include using a rake and mattock (similar to a pickaxe) to dig new trail and remove small roots, clearing brush, moving logs, and picking up debris.

We will supply most of the tools for workdays, but extra loppers and mattocks are welcome.

Please wear work clothes and bring a bag lunch, plenty of water, work gloves, hiking boots, and sunscreen. Sorry no dogs allowed at our workdays for safety reasons. If you are under the age of 18, please consult us before attending workdays.

Submit Volunteer Hours

Crew Leaders

Asheville area (Segment 2 and 3)
Pete Petersen – roap@aol.com

Pisgah National Forest (Segment 4)
Doug Veazey – doug.veazey@gmail.com

High Peak Trail Association (Segment 4)
Jake Blood – nchighpeaks@gmail.com

Bald Knob Task Force (Segment 4)
Phil Piaski – piaski@bellsouth.net

Tanawha Trail through Cone Park (Segment 5)
Randy Johnson – ranjohns@aol.com

Watauga County (Segment 5)
Shelton Wilder – esheltonwilder@gmail.com

Ashe County (Segment 5)
Jim Hallsey – jhallsey@skybest.com

Alleghany County (Segment 5)
Steven Joines – sjj1@skybest.com

Stone Mountain to Elkin (Segment 6)
Bob Hillyer – bearc98@aol.com

Pilot Mountain and Hanging Rock State Parks (Segment 7)
Don Bergey – dbbergey@gmail.com

Sauratown Trails (Segment 7)
Steven Mierisch – mierischs@juno.com

Western Guilford (Segment 8)
Joel Deaton – joeldeaton24@gmail.com

Greensboro (Segment 8)
Mike Simpson – mike.simpson@greensboro-nc.gov

Upper Haw River (Segment 9)
Greg Yahn- gregyahn99@gmail.com

Orange County (Segment 9)
Bill Boyarsky – bill.boyarsky@gmail.com

Eno River (Segment 10)
Fred Dietrich – fred.dietrich@duke.edu

Falls Lake (Segment 10)
Jeff Brewer – jdbrewer104@gmail.com

Agricultural Heartland (Segment 12B)
Bill Scott – lookup.bill@icloud.com

Onslow Bight (Segment 15B)
Tim Supple – villageambassador@gmail.com

Croatan Task Force (Segment 17)
Dave Whitlow – dwhitlow1@ec.rr.com

Outer Banks (Segment 18)
Allen Poole – allenobx@aol.com

Trail Builder Resources

TRAIL BUILDING CLASSES:

Duke Energy TRAILS at Rockingham Community College has developed a sustainable trail skills training sequence of classes for varying skill levels, interests, and needs.

Several courses are offered in two formats to meet student needs and time availability.

* Single day classes provide basic information specific to the course title.

* Multiple day classes provide the same information as the single day classes listed under them and often include additional topics and fieldwork.

Lecture, discussion, and experiential activities/fieldwork are combined to help students completely comprehend the course content. For more information, click here. 

Start exploring North Carolina – one step at a time.