Mt. Mitchell Photo © Jeff Clark

Our panel of judges has now selected the winning photographs in the 2016 Photo Contest. Friends receives so many interesting, beautiful and unexpected shots that represent the wide range of MST environments and experiences.

In the View Category, Erik Sullivan received first prize, Casey Brown second prize, Shawn Huffman third prize, and Paul Malcolm received honorable mention.

In the People Category, Jeff Clark took first prize, Pamela Ireland second, Caroline Mann third, and David Pozo received honorable mention.

You can see the winning photos here, and on our Flickr site:

2nd Place - People on the Trail - Pamela Ireland-Footsteps

The photos were judged by a thoughtful panel of judges:
Professional Photographer Adam Collins
Professional Photographer Simon Griffiths
Jaala Freeman of Great Outdoor Provision Co.
The judges had a difficult time narrowing down their top choices, because there were so many excellent photos from all across the state.  It is always amazing to see the great range of environments the MST passes through. Everyone’s eye seems to catch a different aspect of the trail, whether it is scenic views, wildlife meandering along, or volunteers at work.

After you look at the winning photos, please take a few minutes to view all the submitted photos. We are so inspired by these pictures as they came in, and we know you will enjoy them as well.

2016 View from the Trail Entries

V16-001-William Brown-Looking into the Gorge

2016 People on the Trail Entries

1st Place - People on the Trail - Jeff Clark - A Man and His Hound


We wish to thank our MST Photo Contest sponsor Great Outdoor Provision Company for the support and prizes they donate to this contest each year. We also wish to thank Friends of the MST volunteer Tom Griffin who processed all the submitted photos and uploaded them to our Flickr page.

The photo contest is going on hiatus for 2017, but there will be many opportunities to share your shots from the trail during our many 40th Anniversary events this year.